Nominations | Lifetime | Teachers | Administrators | Amici Linguarum

Are you looking for a way to bring recognition to your program and your school? Do you have a colleague, adminstrator or advocate that you would like to thank for their commitment to world languages? One of the benefits of membership to KWLA is that you are eligible to nominate deserving professionals (and be nominated) for our annual awards. KWLA is seeking nominations for awards presented annually to educators and leaders in world languages. Please consider nominating a colleague!

2011 Nominations

In order to streamline the award nomination process, please complete the following steps by June 30, 2011. We encourage members to start the nomination process early, as you should estimate about one week to collect all necessary materials.

  1. Download the 2011 Award Nomination Guidelines.
  2. Complete a brief online nomination form.
  3. Submit letters of recommendation and other required materials via email to

Award recipients will be notified by Friday, September 2, and officially recognized at the 2011 KWLA Fall Conference during the Awards Luncheon on Saturday, September 24, 2011.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizing Long-Time Leadership!

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual of the world language teaching profession who has demonstrated long-term achievement and service to KWLA and to the profession - locally, statewide, regionally, and/or nationally.

2010John Secor, Morehead State University
2009Joan Jahnige, Kentucky Educational Television
2008Jean Amick, Kentucky Country Day &
Mimi Hagedorn, Bishop Brossart High School
2007Estelle Bayer, Madison Central High School
2006Milton Grimes, Murray State University
2005Linda Pickle, Western Kentucky University
2003Mary Jo Netherton, Morehead State University
2002Ruth Styles, Kentucky Educational Television
2001Rosemary Weddington, Berea High School & EKU
1999Jacquie Spurlock, Eastern Kentucky University
1998Thomas P. Baldwin, Western Kentucky University

Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award

The Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes an individual of the world language teaching profession who has demonstrated long-term achievement and service to the profession. One award will be given at each level (K-8, High School, Postsecondary). One recipient from the K-12 level will be nominated to become the Regional Teacher of the Year (SCOLT or CSCTFL).

2010 Terry Johnson, Western Hills High School
2009 Michele Randolph, Meyzeek Middle School
2008 Linda Zins-Adams, Highland High School
2007 Sharon Mattingly, Barren County High School
2006 Diane Taylor, Dupont Manual High School &
Jean Dudgeon, Elizabethtown KCTCS
2005 Mimi Hagedorn, Bishop Brossart High School &
Susan Marnatti, Beaumont Middle School

Outstanding New Teacher Award

The Outstanding New Teacher Award recognizes outstanding new teachers whose excellence in world language teaching may not be recognized otherwise, and to demonstrate that the profession and KWLA care about new teachers and their professional growth.

2010 Lucas Gravitt, Scott County High School
2009 not awarded
2008 Alice Barrette, East Jessamine High School
2007 Megan Iranpour, Lexington Catholic High School
2006 Not Awarded
2005 Adriana Melnyk, Newport High School

Outstanding Administrator Award

The Outstanding Administrator Award recognizes a school administrator who has demonstrated exemplary support of world language learning and teaching at his/her institution, community, or in the state.

2010 Stu Silberman, Superintendent - Fayette County Public Schools
2009 Charles Mitchell, Superintendent - Menifee Co. Public Schools &
Melissa Wainwright, Principal - Frankfort High School
2008 Lu Young, Superintendent - Jessamine County Public Schools
2007 Roger Marcum, Superintendent - Marion County Public Schools
Janice Lantz, Superintendent - Nelseon County Public Schools
2006 Milton Grimes, Kentucky Institute for International Studies
2005 John Hudson, Principal - Atherton High School

Amici Linguarum Award

The Amici Linguarum Award recognizes an individual or organization not directly involved in the teaching of world languages that has made a significant contribution to the profession.

2010 Representative Ben Chandler, Kentucky (6th District)
2009 Not awarded
2008 Margo Jang, Festival Director - Northern Kentucky Univ.
2007 Not awarded
2006 Elaine Jarchow, Dean of Education - Northern Kentucky Univ.
2005 Peter Fricke, Tente International GmbH